Parenting teens is easy once you embrace being an embarrassment

Posted: August 25, 2014 in Uncategorized

Everyone with teenagers please raise your free hand. And by “free” hand, I mean whichever hand isn’t either guarding your wallet or refrigerator door. For parents without a free hand because you ar…

Source: longawkwardpause.com

I liked it so much, I reblogged it.

 

This is something that teachers and school guidance counselors might find useful. Kids are conflicted with the impulse to separate as individuals and clinging to their parents like the children they used to be. They also want to seem serious and knowledgeable, so being cool is a top priority.

 

As a teacher and administrator, I’ve been very embarrassing (often intentionally and for my own amusement) and have found that when I stopped doing some of my antics, the kids are disappointed. They love it (secretly). They like to complain about it to each other and they laugh but something about it is valued. I suspect it’s because it tells them that I love my job and love playing with them (even when I’m telling them something they don’t want to hear), but it’s also genuine. They know the laugh is real. 

See on Scoop.itTeacher Tools and Tips

Leave a comment